

Thursday, June 27, 2024

To: Heads and Members of Council

From: Trevor Wilcox, Secretary-Treasurer, AMO

It is my pleasure to provide a report on the candidates standing for election for the 2024-2026 AMO Board of Directors.

The AMO Board of Directors election is coordinated by AMO staff and overseen by the City of Brampton Clerk's Office. The City of Brampton Clerk is the appointed Chief Returning Officer (CRO). The CRO has confirmed all candidates against the nomination eligibility requirements.

Notice of Elections to be Held and Acclamations

Elections will be held for the following offices, with the number of candidates and open positions noted.

- President: Two (2) candidates for one (1) elected official position
- County Caucus: Six (6) candidates for three (3) elected official positions
- Large Urban Caucus: Seven (7) candidates for five (5) elected official positions
- Northern Caucus: Three (3) candidates for two (2) elected official positions from Northeastern Ontario
- Regional & Single Tier Caucus: Eight (8) candidates for six (6) elected official positions
- Rural Caucus: Nine (9) candidates for four (4) elected official positions AND two (2) candidates for one (1) municipal employee position
- Small Urban Caucus: Eleven (11) candidates for four (4) elected official positions AND three (3) candidates for one (1) municipal employee position

The following positions were acclaimed:

- Secretary-Treasurer: One (1) municipal employee
- County Caucus: One (1) municipal employee
- Northern Caucus: Two (2) elected officials from Northwestern Ontario

The following position remains vacant and will be filled by appointment by the Board of Directors in fall 2024:

• Large Urban Caucus: One (1) municipal employee

List of Candidates

<u>Candidates for President: One (1) municipal elected official to be elected</u> Robin Jones, Mayor, Village of Westport Wendy Landry, Mayor, Municipality of Shuniah

<u>Candidates for County Caucus: Three (3) municipal elected officials to be elected</u>
Diane Ballantyne, Councillor, County of Wellington

Don DeGenova, Councillor, County of Hastings Aina DeViet, Warden, County of Middlesex Barbara Dobreen, Councillor, County of Grey Chris Gerrits, Councillor, County of Dufferin Chris Peabody, Warden, County of Bruce

Candidates for Large Urban Caucus: Five (5) municipal elected officials to be elected

Angela Caputo, Councillor, City of Sault Ste. Marie Dawn Dodge, Councillor, City of St. Catharines Anna Hopkins, Councillor, City of London Dorothy McCabe, Mayor, City of Waterloo Kieran McKenzie, Councillor, City of Windsor Marianne Meed Ward, Mayor, City of Burlington Bryan Paterson, Mayor, City of Kingston

<u>Candidates for Northern Caucus: Two (2) municipal elected officials from Northeastern</u> Ontario to be elected

John Curley, Councillor, City of Timmins David Plourde, Mayor, Town of Kapuskasing Roger Sigouin, Mayor, Town of Hearst

<u>Candidates for Regional and Single Tier Caucus: Six (6) municipal elected officials to be</u> elected

Riley Brockington, Councillor, City of Ottawa Marilyn Crawford, Councillor, Town of Ajax Robert Foster, Councillor, Region of Niagara Tammy Hwang, Councillor, City of Hamilton Joy Lachica, Councillor, City of Peterborough Tom Mrakas, Councillor, Region of York Rhonda Mulcahy, Councillor, Region of Durham Paul Vicente, Councillor, Region of Peel

<u>Candidates for Rural Caucus: Four (4) municipal elected officials and one (1) municipal employee to be elected</u>

Phil Brennan, Councillor, Township of Severn
Peter Emon, Warden, County of Renfrew
Paul Latam, Councillor, Town of Grand Valley
Dane Nielsen, Deputy Mayor, Municipality of Grey Highlands
Amanda Reid, Councillor, Township of Mapleton
Natasha Salonen, Mayor, Township of Wilmot
Nathan Townend, Deputy Warden, County of Lennox & Addington
Tanya Vrebosch, Councillor, City of North Bay
Rainey Weisler, Deputy Mayor, Municipality of Bayham

Roshan Kantiya, Treasurer, Township of McKellar Nicole Martin, Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk, Township of Amaranth



<u>Candidates for Small Urban Caucus: Four (4) municipal elected officials and one (1) municipal employee to be elected</u>

Gail Ardiel, Councillor, Town of The Blue Mountains

Deb Doherty, Councillor, Town of Collingwood

Lynn Dollin, Mayor, Town of Innisfil

Cheraldean Duhaney, Councillor, Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury

Bill Gordon, Mayor, Town of Midland

Sean Kelly, Councillor, City of Belleville

Jamie McGarvey, Mayor, Town of Parry Sound

Gary McNamara, Mayor, Town of Tecumseh

Joseph Racinsky, Councillor, Town of Halton Hills

Sharmila Setaram, Councillor, City of Welland

Bronwynne Wilton, Councillor, Township of Centre Wellington

Ashley Bilodeau, Senior Municipal Director, Municipality of Callander Amanpreet Singh Sidhu, Deputy CAO & City Solicitor, City of Orillia Michael Touw, Chief Administrative Officer, Town of Perth

Positions filled by Acclamation

Secretary-Treasurer: One (1) municipal employee

Dan Chapman, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Kitchener

County Caucus: One (1) municipal employee

Meighan Wark, Chief Administrative Officer, County of Huron

Northern Caucus: Two (2) municipal elected officials from Northwestern Ontario

Rick Dumas, Mayor, Town of Marathon

Fred Mota, Mayor, Municipality of Red Lake

Voting Information

The elections will be held during the AMO Annual Conference & General Meeting.

All elected officials from member municipalities in good standing with the Association who are registered conference delegates are eligible to vote for President and in the Caucus in which they are registered.

The deadline to change a delegate's Caucus affiliation is Friday, July 5, 2024. If you wish to change your Caucus affiliation, please email events@amo.on.ca with your name and desired Caucus affiliation.

The voting period is Monday, August 19, 2024, 12:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. and Tuesday, August 20, 2024, 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Voting will be conducted in person in the Parliament Foyer, Shaw Centre, Ottawa (outside the Plenary Hall).

The CRO will announce the results of the election on Tuesday, August 20, 2024, during



the afternoon main stage programming in the Plenary Hall.

Sincerely,

Trevor Wilcox

Secretary-Treasurer, AMO

General Manager, Corporate Performance, County of Simcoe